Cardamom Allspice Simple Syrup

17 Aug

Same stuff, different URL!

I have moved to: harvette.com

____________________________________________

In case you’re worried about my lack of posting in the past week, I can assure you that I have a large backlog of half-written posts just waiting to be finished. It may appear as if I went on a blog hiatus, but in reality I’ve been on a “finishing blog pots” hiatus! I’ve been busy doing a lot of yard work this past week (a post about that coming soon!) and also had a busy, fun weekend filled with friends and canoeing, plus much needed recovery time spent on the couch relaxing.

Anyway, Saturday morning, before doing yard work and getting ready to head out to a fabulous housewarming party, I whipped up a batch of simple syrup. I’ve been using a cardamom ginger flavored simple syrup in my iced coffee all summer long. I made it last winter as a potential base for homemade liqueur (something I WILL get into again this winter and, I’m sure, post about quite a lot!). While the syrup tasted incredible, it wasn’t quite what I was planning for a liqueur… so, I added just a touch of vodka as a preservative, bottled it and it sat in my fridge until June, when I had the good idea of adding a touch to my coffee. YUM. Best idea ever!

I ran out of this syrup last week and wanted to re-create it, but also wanted to play around with the flavors a bit. I initially intended to do cardamom and cinnamon, but couldn’t find cinnamon sticks reasonably priced anywhere. I’m sure they will start showing up in the next few weeks, due to the upcoming fall season (which is my favorite, by the way), but since I wanted the syrup now I altered my plans.

Cardamom Allspice Simple Syrup:

Yield: about 10 oz of syrup

  • 1 cup of sugar (normally white – for this one I used light brown sugar, I like the flavor it lends to the syrup)
  • 1 cup of water
  • 1 teaspoon whole all spice
  • 7 cardamom pods (or small amounts of any whole spices that inspire you – I used about 1 tablespoon of fresh grated ginger in the “Cardamom Ginger” syrup)

Crush the cardamom and the allspice with the back of a spoon. The cardamom pods just need to be partially broken, enough so that some of the seeds come out. The allspice should be broken into a few smaller pieces… this crushing process helps the flavor intensity of your syrup.

In a small pot, add sugar (packed brown sugar makes a very attractive scoop in your pot!) and water. Stir and then add the spices.

Bring to a boil over medium heat and then allow to simmer (not full boil, we aren’t making candy here) for about 10 minutes. You can let it boil 15 minutes if you want the syrup on the thicker side, which I personally like.

Remove from heat, allow to cool for about 10 minutes, then strain into a glass jar or other glass container. I used a gold filter coffee strainer set inside a jam funnel – those two esoteric kitchen implements see quite a lot of use in my kitchen, often not at all for their intended purposes!

filtering brown sugar simple syrup
3 Responses to “Cardamom Allspice Simple Syrup”

  1. Jenn August 18, 2010 at 10:34 am #

    I’m planning on making some mint simple syrup today. Last time I lost interest and over-reduced, making more of a mint soft soft soft candy. But I have a fridge full of CSA watermelon on the brink of going over, and I think an agua fresca type thing with some mint simple syrup and watermelon and ice cubes in a blender would be awesome. So that’s my naptime project. Fingers crossed!

    • Harvette August 18, 2010 at 1:08 pm #

      Good luck! I think watermelon agua fresca with mint syrup sounds incredible!!

      • Jenn August 18, 2010 at 8:09 pm #

        Done & delicious! And even blogged. I ended up making mint-vanilla syrup, and it is great.

Leave a Reply

