Warm Bruchetta

9 Aug

Same stuff, different URL!

I have moved to: harvette.com

_____________________________________________

 

Plum tomatoes that I’d picked up at a farm stand earlier in the week were calling out to me. They were reaching the “use it or lose it” stage quickly. I paid a pretty penny for them, with no real idea as to their purpose  – totally an impulse buy.

I didn’t have enough to make a real tomato sauce, plus I think plum tomatoes are best served warm, due to their meaty flavor. So, I threw together a very tasty warm bruchetta, which I had with the fresh loaf of poppy sunflower seed bread I’d baked earlier in the day. You’ll think I’m losing it, after all this talk of cheese on my blog lately – but this bruchetta doesn’t need any sort of cheese at all. The butter adds in enough flavor to satisfy. However, feel free to grate some romano or asiago over this before serving… cheese will only make it better.

Warm Bruchetta

Serves two – you could easily double or triple this recipe to serve more. I won’t lie, I ate the entire thing myself!

  • 1/4 cup diced sweet onion (or yellow onion)
  • 2 tablespoons unsalted butter (if you’re crazy like me, use your own homemade butter)
  • 5-6 diced plum tomatoes (preferably in season and ripe)
  • 1/4 cup diced red bell pepper
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • 2 teaspoons dried thyme (1 tablespoon fresh thyme)

Sauté onion in butter on medium-high heat until the onion and butter just start to turn brown. I like to add in my spices now – I feel like the high heat without extra liquid ups the flavor. There is no science behind this! So, if you’re like me, add in the thyme now.

Add in the tomatoes and bell pepper, quickly stir around for about 2-3 minutes. The idea is to warm the tomatoes and pepper to bring out the flavor, but only cook until they are just barely tender.

Remove from heat, add salt and pepper to taste, and serve with pieces of toasted bread! If you want to be really fancy: peel a clove of garlic and rub it on your bread prior to toasting it.

One Response to “Warm Bruchetta”

  1. Jane Song December 1, 2010 at 5:22 pm #

    Hi Heather! Signing up for your email updates 🙂

Leave a Reply

